Van Dijk Player of the year

Virgil van Dijk wins the PFA Player of the Year award

Dutch duo Virgil van Dijk and Vivianne Miedema have won the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year awards for 2018-19. The centre-back becomes the second Liverpool player in as many years to take the award, beating out a host of Manchester City stars. Liverpool defender Van Dijk, 27, beat Raheem Sterling, Bernardo Silva, Sergio Aguero, Sadio Mane and Eden Hazard in the vote by his fellow players. Van Dijk succeeds Liverpool team-mate Mohamed Salah, who won in 2017-18, and is the first defender to take the award since Chelsea centre-back John Terry in 2004-05. Miedema, who helped Arsenal clinch their first Women’s Super League title since 2012 earlier on Sunday, follows Chelsea and England striker Fran Kirby. Netherlands international Miedema is the top scorer ...

Ir a la barra de herramientas