Share This Post

News / Premier League

Virgil van Dijk wins the PFA Player of the Year award

Dutch duo Virgil van Dijk and Vivianne Miedema have won the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year awards for 2018-19.

Virgil van Dijk and Vivianne Miedema win PFA Player of the Year awards

Dutch pair Virgil van Dijk and Vivianne Miedema are the first players from the same country to win PFA Player of the Year awards in the same year

The centre-back becomes the second Liverpool player in as many years to take the award, beating out a host of Manchester City stars.

Liverpool defender Van Dijk, 27, beat Raheem Sterling, Bernardo Silva, Sergio Aguero, Sadio Mane and Eden Hazard in the vote by his fellow players.

Van Dijk succeeds Liverpool team-mate Mohamed Salah, who won in 2017-18, and is the first defender to take the award since Chelsea centre-back John Terry in 2004-05.

Miedema, who helped Arsenal clinch their first Women’s Super League title since 2012 earlier on Sunday, follows Chelsea and England striker Fran Kirby.

Netherlands international Miedema is the top scorer in the WSL this season, netting 22 goals and providing 10 assists in her 19 appearances.

In all competitions this season, the prolific striker has scored 39 goals in 46 appearances. Miedema, who was also nominated for the women’s young player award, is the first Arsenal player to win the senior prize since team-mate Kim Little claimed the inaugural award in 2013.

This summer, she will hope to propel the Dutch to success at the Women’s World Cup in France, as they look to build on their triumph at Euro 2017.

Miedema was the only Arsenal player nominated, seeing off City trio Houghton, Parris and Walsh and Chelsea pair Cuthbert and Ji.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Ir a la barra de herramientas